New newbie setups

This forum is for discussion related to the game.
ConSpiracy
ConSpiracy
Mafia Scum
ConSpiracy
Mafia Scum
Mafia Scum

New newbie setups

Post Post #0 (ISO) » Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:31 pm

Post by ConSpiracy »

After we discussed the Leadership of an IC most of the people complained about the newbie setup: F11. I agree with the F11 setup becoming a bit boring and their being incredibly swingy. On top of that I recall Mr. Flay saying somewhere the F11 favored scum, so it may be a good idea to start brainstorming about new possible newbie setups. Because the other thread was made for another purpose I made this thread to specificly discuss new newbie setups. I am by no means an expert in balancing games, but I can make some suggestions:

Info and protection

1 informative role: Cop, Tracker, Watcher, Roleblocker
1 protective role: Doc (other PR is macho), Jailkeeper, Bodyguard
OR
2 alignment confirmed masons

And

2 mafia goons
5 VTs

It is just a start, but I think it is possible. The informative role can't out himself since he doesn't know what the active/protective role is and the protective roles are basicly just helping town a bit. The only problem would be the swingieness with the power roles, since a tracker is worse than a cop, the same is for the bodyguard and the doc/jailkeeper. Note that roleblocker usually counts as a protective role, but is purely informative in this game.

Teaming up

2 PRs, all in combination with another: Cop-Bodyguard, Tracker-Jailkeeper, Doc-macho Roleblocker, Hider-Watcher, aligment confirmed masons
2 mafia goons (they know the PR combination)
5 VTs