How can one become a good moderator at IRL Mafia?

This forum is for discussion related to the game.
ExoticQueen
ExoticQueen
Townie
ExoticQueen
Townie
Townie

How can one become a good moderator at IRL Mafia?

Post Post #0 (ISO) » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:23 am

Post by ExoticQueen »

I need tips for being mod at a mafia game to play with friends IRL with cards and stuff.
I'm a newbie that doesn't know what's going on.
callforjudgement
callforjudgement
Microprocessor
callforjudgement
Microprocessor
Microprocessor

Post Post #1 (ISO) » Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:24 am

Post by callforjudgement »

Memory is the most important skill for modding IRL Mafia games that doesn't come up much in forum mafia. If a player takes a night action, you have to remember that and do the resolution in your head; if you spend time writing the night actions down, you'll hold up the game. Forgetting actions can also rather ruin the game; it doesn't hurt to have a couple dead players help you out with the action resolution. (The way I normally run IRL mafia games is as split role/alignment, where the role and alignment cards are separate, and most actions are done publicly as day actions. That reduces the memory burden significantly and also helps keep things fresh and reduce setup speculation; the games are so much faster than regular game that it doesn't matter if some of them randomly come out a bit imbalanced.)

Note also that playing IRL is very townsided compared to forum Mafia; on a forum, scum can carefully read through their posts before posting to make sure they aren't doing something stupid, but scum in an in-person game don't have that option. It's also often possible to read people as scum from cues like body language. So you need to take this tendency into account in setup design, giving town a little less power than you would on a forum.