On Improving In Mafia

This forum is for discussion related to the game.
Alyssa The Lamb
Alyssa The Lamb
Mafia Scum
Alyssa The Lamb
Mafia Scum
Mafia Scum

On Improving In Mafia

Post Post #0 (ISO) » Mon Mar 30, 2020 12:11 pm

Post by Alyssa The Lamb »

It's not exactly the biggest secret that I think the metagame of this site has gone downhill over the past year or two. There have been topics on this sort of subject in some sense popping up for as long as I've been around on the site, but often they focus on specific skills and understanding different parts of the game. I'm going to go a slightly different route and attempt to detail how to improve at the game in general by tackling your mindset, hopefully regardless of your playstyle or skill level.

---
Why am I qualified to speak about this?

I've been playing mafia on and off for nine years, to some varying level of seriousness. I was nobody special or worth any particular mention for most of that time, only gaining any recognition around 2016, and only widespread recognition in 2018 or 2019. Considering that it's very rare for somebody to just happen across a level of improvement to warrant this type of response, there's likely other factors at play here.

I also study various other things, albeit more as a hobby than as a potential professional career. Notably, a lot of my theories about mafia have most of their grounding in other games (such as Chess and Go), psychology (predominantly criminal psychology), and mathematics. I believe this is one of the other advantages I possess that allows me to view the game in a different way than a lot of other players. However, I'm nothing special, and this isn't a set amount of steps that will make you suddenly a legend at the game overnight. There are other valid opinions out there, and true improvement is rarely fast. These are simply the guidelines I followed to shift my mindset towards attempting to improve at the game.

---