Is my refutation to this proof in geometry correct?

This forum is for discussion about anything else.
neblive
neblive
Goon
neblive
Goon
Goon

Is my refutation to this proof in geometry correct?

Post Post #0 (ISO) » Sat Apr 15, 2017 6:17 am

Post by neblive »

Here's a proof that all triangles are isosceles (you can ignore my comments to the left, I was too lazy to remove them from the picture)

Of course this proof must not be true, my task is to find the place where this proof falls apart, after lotta tries, I think i've finally found out what's wrong, take a look at this image:

(Sorry the quality sucks cause i'm still a beginner in GeoGebra)
In this image, I've drawn a right angled triangle with sides 3-4-5, I've followed what the proof says
The proof says that AF = AE and FC = BE, this is case 4 cause they meet outside the triangle so
AF - FC = AE - BE
AF - FC = AC
AE - BE is not equal to AB
That's where the proof falls apart
The proof tried to use an unproven statement that says that:

"In case 4, AF - FC = AC and AE - BE = AB"
and this may not necessarily be the case

Did I nail it? or did I make a mistake?

"Due to symmetry, I think this also happens in case 2", is this statement correct?

"As for case 3, I think it is always isosceles", is this statement correct?

Actually cases 2 and 3 can't occur
Titus
Titus
She/her
Moon Walker
Titus
She/her
Moon Walker
Moon Walker
Pronoun: She/her

Post Post #1 (ISO) » Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:46 am

Post by Titus »

Error: Graphics such.

Error 2: Is this your homework?
Show
The scum had the misfortune of Titus being absurdly accurate on day one.Really quite impressed by that.~Drixx

You're letting Titus win the game by herself.Good luck now I guess.You have no chance to win.~Tywin

GTKTitus Part 2
Titus Academy

VLA Friday nights until Sunday morning.

All hail the Scum Empress!
neblive
neblive
Goon
neblive
Goon
Goon

Post Post #2 (ISO) » Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:03 am

Post by neblive »