How to Register as an Alt

Post here if you have a problem with your account.
zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #0  (ISO)  » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:09 am

If you do not register as an alt, it will flag your account and you will have to ask the mods to be manually activated.

All account that are alternates of an existing account should be marked as an alt upon registration. To do so make sure the following steps take place.

Please note that failing the captcha or any other part of the form will reset the form to "Main Account" and will need to be switched back to Alt Account


Image
Image

This benefits you as a user as well as us as an administrative staff. This is because alts do not need to be manually activated if there is a duplicate identity associated.

Hydras still need to be manually entered by a member of the staff. You can ask for activation here.
.

Raskolnikov
Mafia Scum
 
User avatar
Joined: November 15, 2015
Pronoun: He

Post Post #1  (ISO)  » Mon Nov 28, 2016 11:56 am

1. What format do you list main(s) in the latter field (and doesn't the 15 character minimum get in the way?)
2. I made and played in hydras before and it was fine without manual activation?
~

zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #2  (ISO)  » Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:07 pm

I'm not sure what you mean by number 1.

It may not necessarily need it technically for a hydra. If someone registered it as their alt, that'll automatically let it activate. It's good practice to have the hydra registered anyway (if it's a secret hydra, a listmod should be able to help. if it's not, the thread is the better place).
.

zakk
Jack of All Trades
 
Joined: September 01, 2013

Post Post #3  (ISO)  » Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:09 pm

In post 0, zoraster wrote:Please note that failing the captcha or any other part of the form will reset the form to "Main Account" and will need to be switched back to Alt Account

Requesting a fix pls
permanently retired

see here for more info

Equinox
Shot Count
 
User avatar
Joined: April 12, 2010
Location: Washington, DC

Post Post #4  (ISO)  » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:26 pm

In post 1, Raskolnikov wrote:1. What format do you list main(s) in the latter field (and doesn't the 15 character minimum get in the way?)

It doesn't matter, as we read that field manually. As long as you list your main account(s) in some form, it's fine.
RadiantCowbells (18:08) I bet I had the most concurrent games record ever.
Antihero (18:09) that's like having the record for eating the most cockroaches

Rautherdir
Goon
 
User avatar
Joined: December 10, 2016
Pronoun: He

Post Post #5  (ISO)  » Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:59 am

In post 0, zoraster wrote:Please note that failing the captcha or any other part of the form will reset the form to "Main Account" and will need to be switched back to Alt Account

Could you have this message displayed whenever Alt Account is selected? Right above "The items marked with * are required profile fields and need to be filled out." would probably work great.

zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #6  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:58 am

I'm bumping this and making it a global announcement for a day or two just as a reminder. We have had a lot of people recently try to make an alt and not select "Alt." We're happy to help those who need it, but this does create more work for both you and us.

So... register your alts as alts when you sign up.
.

Psyche
mr. personality
 
User avatar
Joined: April 28, 2011
Location: diving
Pronoun: He

Post Post #7  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:15 am

ive definitely made an alt the right way and still had to get it activated manually
i am haunted by a deafening silence

zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #8  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:16 am

that shouldn't happen. Are you sure you didn't accidentally fail the captcha and not redo it?
.

Psyche
mr. personality
 
User avatar
Joined: April 28, 2011
Location: diving
Pronoun: He

Post Post #9  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:16 am

ill do atest run
i am haunted by a deafening silence

zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #10  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:19 am

Please do.
.

chamber
Cases are scummy
 
User avatar
Joined: November 20, 2005
Pronoun: He

Post Post #11  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:21 am

Or got the password wrong? I don't remember the behavior for that.
Taking a break from the site.

Psyche
mr. personality
 
User avatar
Joined: April 28, 2011
Location: diving
Pronoun: He

Post Post #12  (ISO)  » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:25 am

all is good now and perhaps has always been who knows
i am haunted by a deafening silence

Zachstralkita
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: April 02, 2016

Post Post #13  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:25 am

In post 0, zoraster wrote:

Please note that failing the captcha or any other part of the form will reset the form to "Main Account" and will need to be switched back to Alt Account





Is it a major issue if I may have done this (apostrophe in username), didn't switch it back, but the hydra's mains are listed in the "Where did you find out about MS" field?
Who gave you the right to judge us?

zoraster
Consigliere
 
User avatar
Joined: June 10, 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Pronoun: He

Post Post #14  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:40 am

It's something that should be corrected. We don't have super sophisticated stuff here, so listing your hydra mains in the where did you find out just puts some text into a text field in your profile to us. It means we know you aren't hiding your identity, which is good, but it'll still generally stop you from being able to post in a game until the admins have to manually activate you.
.

Zachstralkita
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: April 02, 2016

Post Post #15  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:45 am

I believe I can post on there though so I may or may not have done it, just wanted to check if it caused problems for you
Who gave you the right to judge us?

Nexus
miss
 
User avatar
Joined: July 02, 2010
Location: Greatness
Pronoun: He

Post Post #16  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:01 am

Ban anyone who fails to do this correctly imo.

ThinkBig
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: September 11, 2016
Pronoun: He

Post Post #17  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:09 am

#BanAllAlts
#BanAllHydras
I have officially retired this account. My new account is Virtuoso.

TwoFace
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: September 01, 2016
Pronoun: He

Post Post #18  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:51 am

In post 17, ThinkBig wrote:#BanAllHydras

+1

Ircher
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: November 09, 2015
Pronoun: He

Post Post #19  (ISO)  » Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:57 pm

In post 2, zoraster wrote:I'm not sure what you mean by number 1.

It may not necessarily need it technically for a hydra. If someone registered it as their alt, that'll automatically let it activate. It's good practice to have the hydra registered anyway (if it's a secret hydra, a listmod should be able to help. if it's not, the thread is the better place).

There's a 15 character requirement for listing the mains of an alt. At least there was one.
Select novels I've read (and ratings): Of Mice and Men (5), Jane Eyre (1), Fahrenheit 451 (7), Lord of the Flies (7.5), To Kill a Mockingbird (6), Brave New World (8), And Then There Were None (7), The Once and Future King (8.5), The Right Stuff (4), Into the Wild (8), Unbroken (8), The Great Gatsby (5.5), The Picture of Dorian Gray (5.5), The Time Machine (7)

Ankamius
Jack of All Trades
 
User avatar
Joined: May 09, 2011
Pronoun: She

Post Post #20  (ISO)  » Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:42 pm

In post 19, Ircher wrote:
In post 2, zoraster wrote:I'm not sure what you mean by number 1.

It may not necessarily need it technically for a hydra. If someone registered it as their alt, that'll automatically let it activate. It's good practice to have the hydra registered anyway (if it's a secret hydra, a listmod should be able to help. if it's not, the thread is the better place).

There's a 15 character requirement for listing the mains of an alt. At least there was one.


That was the reason I had any troubles last time I made another account.

Frozen Angel
Queen Shifty
 
User avatar
Joined: October 26, 2015
Location: Paris
Pronoun: She

Post Post #21  (ISO)  » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:43 am

ok both of these issues (the 15 char if there is something like that at all) and the alt thing (the fact it goes back to min account of captcha fails) must be fixed with code. I will look into that today.
False tears bring pain to those around you
False smile brings pain to one's self


"Frozen Like Your Heart." -Ginngie

zakk
Jack of All Trades
 
Joined: September 01, 2013

Post Post #22  (ISO)  » Sun Aug 13, 2017 4:13 pm

In post 21, Frozen Angel wrote:ok both of these issues (the 15 char if there is something like that at all) and the alt thing (the fact it goes back to min account of captcha fails) must be fixed with code. I will look into that today.

this done yet?

just add a $_POST check and change the <option> selected value if the value exists
permanently retired

see here for more info


[ + ]

Return to Help!